Car Crash or Car Accident?

Car Crash or Car Accident?

Insurance companies love to talk about “accidents”, because that word implies that your injury was nobody’s fault.  Insurance company lawyers like to use the word “accident” because they hope the jury will start to believe that the “accident” was not anybody’s fault.  In reality, an “accident” is usually caused by someone who wasn’t paying attention. […]

Having the Right UIM Coverage Makes a Difference

Having the Right UIM Coverage Makes a Difference

In Oregon, every driver is required to have at least $25,000 in UIM (underinsured motorist coverage).  If you injury is worth $300,000, but the person who caused your injury only has $25,000 of insurance, then you could get stuck with just getting $25,000 unless you have good UIM.  If the at-fault driver’s insurance limits will […]

Preserving Evidence & Documenting Damages

Preserving Evidence & Documenting Damages

If you are in a car crash that causes over $1,500 in damage to any vehicle, or causes any injuries, you are required to fill out a DMV report.  Keep a copy for your records, as the DMV will not give you a copy later.  You are also required to inform law enforcement about your […]

3 More Common Myths you may have Heard from Friends, Relatives or Well-meaning Neighbors
3 Common Myths you may have Heard from Friends, Relatives or Well-meaning Neighbors
Health Insurance – Your Last Resort

Health Insurance – Your Last Resort

Personal injury protection (PIP) is the first place to go to get your medical bills paid if you have been in a car crash.  If you’ve been in a crash, call your own insurance company and speak to an adjuster about using your PIP for medical treatments. PIP only pays $15,000 toward your medical bills, […]

Don’t be Tricked by the other Insurance Company!

Don’t be Tricked by the other Insurance Company!

You should definitely communicate with your own insurance company’s adjuster, but the insurance adjuster for the other driver’s insurance will probably be more difficult to deal with it.  Here are some of the tricks the insurance adjuster will use to try and make you settle your case for an unfair amount. 1. Pretending to be […]

FAQ’s About Auto Accident Insurance in Oregon

FAQ’s About Auto Accident Insurance in Oregon

What if the other driver was at fault, but doesn’t have insurance? How will I pay my bills? Well, to pay your bills initially, you will be able to use your PIP. But in addition to PIP, you will also have other coverage in your policy to cover expenses over $15,ooo. In Oregon, every driver […]