The Basics of Liability Insurance

The Basics of Liability Insurance

Every driver in Oregon is required to have liability insurance.  Liability insurance is meant to protect you if you are legally responsible for an automobile accident. If you are driving and hurt someone else, your liability insurance will provide you with a lawyer, and will pay the injured person whatever amount he or she is […]

The Basics of Auto Insurance Policies

The Basics of Auto Insurance Policies

If you’ve been in an accident, you will find yourself fielding calls, letters, and bills from multiple insurance companies. You may get confused, talking to the other driver’s insurance company, thinking it’s your own. It’s easy to make mistakes, and feel overwhelmed. We hope that laying out the different types of insurance will help you […]

The Personal Injury Process

The Personal Injury Process

Here is a checklist of some steps you’ll want to consider in settling your case. Please note, this is not a list of what we do. As lawyers, we are able to take advantage of the legal system to do things differently. This is a helpful checklist of items that we hope the average person […]

Oregon’s Statutes of Limitations

Oregon’s Statutes of Limitations

Many people ask the same question, how long do I have to file my personal injury case?  In general, Oregon personal injury cases must be filed with the court within two years of the date of the injury.  This does not mean you can decide one year and eleven months after your accident that you […]

What is Underinsured Motorist Insurance?

What is Underinsured Motorist Insurance?

When you bought your insurance policy, in addition to PIP and liability coverage, you also got underinsured motorist insurance (UIM). If someone else hits you and causes $150,000 worth of injuries, but only has $25,000 worth of insurance, UIM will make up the difference, but only if you have UIM policy limits of $150,000 or […]

Can Bankruptcy Affect your Personal Injury Case?

Can Bankruptcy Affect your Personal Injury Case?

If you are in bankruptcy, or might be soon, this can have an enormous effect on any recovery you may get from a personal injury case. If you are in bankruptcy, your claim does not belong to you; it belongs to your bankruptcy trustee. Generally, you can keep up to $10,000. But the rest usually […]

What Evidence should you Gather for your Car Accident Case?

What Evidence should you Gather for your Car Accident Case?

After a car accident it is important to gather as much evidence as possible for your insurance claim or injury lawsuit. The more documentation to support your claim, the more likely you are to reach a settlement in your favor. Below are some of the important types of evidence to gather for your car accident […]

What are the Oregon Personal Injury Laws & Statutes?

What are the Oregon Personal Injury Laws & Statutes?

If you have been injured from an accident in Oregon, understanding the rules will help you begin the personal injury claim process.  Below are key state laws that are important for your personal injury lawsuit or insurance settlement.   Time Limit All states have laws explaining the amount of time you have to file a […]