Personal Injury FAQs

How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Case in Oregon?

How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Case in Oregon?

Time limit laws can be muddled and extensive: the Oregon State Bar, for instance, uses approximately 250 pages just to summarize Oregon time limit laws.  To be sure, time limits vary widely depending on the situation. We’ve outlined a few of Oregon’s general time limit laws for common car crashes, but in order to be certain about […]

What if the Person Who Hit Me Has Low Insurance Policy Limits?

What if the Person Who Hit Me Has Low Insurance Policy Limits?

Not Enough Insurance to Cover Bills After an Accident If you have been seriously injured in a Portland car crash, and the total cost of damages to you exceeds the insurance limit of the person who hit you, there are other ways for you to collect the additional money you deserve. A Portland car accident lawyer […]

Should I Give a Recorded Statement to the Adjuster?

Should I Give a Recorded Statement to the Adjuster?

Here’s the short answer: NO! And, the long answer: If you’ve been in an accident involving a car, you’re probably dealing with two different insurance companies – your own insurance company, which is paying your medical bills through Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, and the liability insurance company (the insurance company for the driver who hit […]

I Was Injured as a Pedestrian…Am I Still Insured?

I Was Injured as a Pedestrian…Am I Still Insured?

What to Do After Being Hit by a Car If a pedestrian is hit by a car or a bike, that pedestrian usually has three options. But if the pedestrian does not have auto insurance, that leaves them with only two options. In a typical accident, insurance coverage for medical bills, wage loss, etc., breaks down […]

What is Personal Injury Protection, or PIP?

What is Personal Injury Protection, or PIP?

If you sustain an injury that is the result of the use, maintenance or occupancy of a motor vehicle then your car insurance will pay up to $15,000 towards your medical treatment through your personal injury protection coverage for up to 1 year after the injury. You may receive higher limits, but only if you paid the […]

How Much Auto Insurance is Required in Oregon?

Simple. As much as you can afford. You want to get the highest amount of insurance you can afford. And you particularly want to focus on your uninsured motorist protection and underinsured motorist protection. You want to call your agent and get at least $250,000 worth of uninsured and underinsured to protect you and your family […]

What is Oregon Auto Liability Insurance?

What is Oregon Auto Liability Insurance?

Oregon liability insurance is a required form of insurance that protects you if you are responsible for an automobile accident in Portland or anywhere else within the United States. If you cause a collision, your Oregon liability insurance will provide you with an attorney.  In the ideal situation, the lawyer they provide will negotiate a […]

How Much Does it Cost to Hire a Portland Personal Injury Lawyer?

How Much Does it Cost to Hire a Portland Personal Injury Lawyer?

First of all, make sure you do your research, and ask around before hiring a lawyer. The typical Portland attorney fees for personal injury cases is a one-third contingency fee: that is, your lawyer gets one-third of the total money that you get. This is called a contingency fee because the lawyers’ pay is contingent upon getting […]