Filing an Oregon Accident Report

Just because you are a safe driver, doesn’t mean that you do not run the risk of being in an accident. Knowing this, you should always prepare know what to do should this ever happen to you. And knowing what to do in this situation also includes understanding how to file an Oregon accident report correctly. Let’s take a look at the steps associated with filing an accident report:

Stopping Your Car

So that you don’t block traffic, you should always stop your car before you file any kind of Oregon accident report. After all, you don’t to put any other car on the road in danger. When stopping, be sure you’re as close to the scene of the incident as possible. And realize that it is illegal to “hit and run.” This basically means that you would be held accountable by the law should you run away from the scene where the accident happened.

Helping Anyone Who May Be Inured

The next step, the one before filing an Oregon accident report, is to provide any help for anyone who may be injured. Always make sure that you never move the injured person unless they are in immediate danger. Otherwise, wait for an ambulance to arrive before attempting to remove them (this will prevent neck damage). Also, make sure that you wait for police to arrive. And remember, it is against the law if you don’t wait.

Exchanging Information

Now, it is time to file your Oregon accident report. Basically, you are going to provide the other party with the following information: Name, address, insurance company number, driver’s license number, and license plate number. And on the same note, make sure that you receive all of their information as well. In case you forget what you need when filing an Oregon accident report, refer to this website to make sure.

Reporting the Accident

After you file the report, you may have three days to report it to the DMV. For you to be required to report the accident, you must have met the following criteria:

  • There was more than $1,500 in damage on your vehicle.
  • There was more than $1,500 in damage involved in the accident from other vehicles (not the one hit).
  • There was more than $1,500 worth of damage causes to the other party’s vehicle.
  • Someone became injured or died.

In most cases if the accident is small, both parties will not be required to report their accident. However, if the accident meets any of the above conditions, it will need to be reported to the DMV.

Conclusion

As you can see, the Oregon accident report filing system is relatively easy. All that you need to do is that you are staying near the scene of the crime, away from traffic, and exchanging information with the opposite party.

And also remember, should you not have liability insurance, there is a good chance that the DMV will suspend your driver’s license for up to one year. Once that time is up you will need to go through a major hassle to get it back. Just remember, drive safe and following the correct accident regulations.